Trump Continues to Secure US Borders.

President Trump Expands Travel Ban to Include North Korea and Venezuela.

The US is upping its security especially as tension grows with North Korea. Trump signed off on the bans today but they will not be in effect until October 18th. The newly expanded list includes the following Countries: North Korea, Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen.

These countries listed have been singled out by The Department of Homeland Security. The DHS claims that the chosen countries either have not provided the US with requested information or have not taken the appropriate security measures.

People with visas and permits will not have them revoked and exceptions to this new ruling will be on a case to case basis.

Hearings over the legality of the new ban are planned to be heard on the 10th.


As Reported By Fox News

Tillerson added: “The State Department will coordinate with other federal agencies to implement these measures in an orderly manner. We will continue to work closely with our allies and partners who share our commitment to national and global security.”

The travel restrictions are based on a new baseline developed by DHS that includes factors such as whether countries issue electronic passports with biometric information and share information about travelers’ terror-related and criminal histories. The U.S. then shared those benchmarks with every country in the world and gave them 50 days to comply.

The eight countries the restrictions target are those that refused or were unable to comply.

Following the terrorist attack in London last week, Trump tweeted: “The travel ban into the United States should be far larger, tougher and more specific-but stupidly, that would not be politically correct!”

Critics have accused Trump of overstepping his presidential authority and violating the Constitution’s protections against religious bias. During his campaign, Trump called for a “total and complete shutdown of Muslims entering the United States.”